Academic Organization

TCU is composed of seven academic units offering undergraduate bachelor's degrees in 101 majors. These colleges and schools also offer graduate degrees (see TCU Graduate Studies Catalog for more information). In addition, students can earn a Certificate in Ranch Management or take a full range of non-credit courses through the Office of Extended Education.

While students normally concentrate their work in the school or college of their major field, they may have classes in any or all. All undergraduates will have some courses in AddRan College of Liberal Arts and the College of Science & Engineering, for a broad, liberal arts-based educational background in the humanities, natural and social sciences.

The M.J. Neeley School of Business

The M.J. Neeley School of Business at TCU prepares students to contribute to the professional world and the larger community through emphasis on a balanced curriculum. A unified program provides a solid knowledge base upon which students add principles of accounting, decision sciences, finance, management, marketing, information systems and supply chain management, as well as distinct competencies that allow them to lead in the business world.

College of Communication

The College of Communication combines liberal arts studies with professional training. Within the Schieffer School of Journalism, Department of Communication Studies and Department of Radio-TV-Film, students learn to apply their classroom experiences. Located in the eighth largest media market in the United States, graduates find ample opportunity to develop their skills in their desired fields. Personal counseling and relatively small classes allow the faculty to give attention to the work of each student.

College of Education

The College of Education offers programs to prepare teachers, counselors and administrators who serve children from pre-school through college. Undergraduate programs prepare teachers for certification in early childhood through grade 6, composite and academic subjects in middle and high school, along with an educational studies minor. These programs combine theory with intensive field-based practice and focus on effective teaching; solving instructional problems; resolving ethical issues; and making curricular decisions with special emphases on urban schools, English as a second language and special education.

College of Fine Arts

The College of Fine Arts represents a vital and integral part of TCU's educational history. The college houses the School of Music, the School for Classical and Contemporary Dance, and the departments of Art and Art History; Design, Merchandising and Textiles; and Theatre. These academic programs exact an appropriate balance between professional training and liberal arts studies. Small classes allow the faculty to give personal attention to the work of each student.

AddRan College of Liberal Arts

AddRan College of Liberal Arts is the center of TCU's well-developed tradition of emphasis on liberal arts. Courses in the humanities and social sciences form a major part of the core studies for all students. Degree programs within AddRan's nine departments provide the solid liberal arts base needed for professional study toward the ministry, law, medicine, business, teaching or other related fields. Some have a professional orientation within themselves, with specialized study leading toward specific career objectives. In all of the programs, students find flexibility and freedom balanced by structure and discipline.

Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences

Harris College of Nursing & Health Sciences unites Nursing, the School of Nurse Anesthesia, Doctor of Nursing Practice, and three departments—Communication Sciences and Disorders, Kinesiology and Social Work—in an integrated unit. The degree programs offered by the college build on a strong liberal arts foundation and prepare graduates to practice in complex and varied professional settings. Many of the courses offered in the college allow students to learn through practicing in professional and clinical settings and encountering multiple and diverse disciplines, practitioners and clients.

College of Science & Engineering

The College of Science & Engineering provides an interdisciplinary program that bridges liberal arts studies with the technical skills the world demands. Composed of the departments of Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Environmental Science, Geology, Mathematics, Nutritional Sciences, Physics and Astronomy, and Psychology, the college offers the Bachelor of Science degree with majors in 18 fields of study and the Bachelor of Arts degree with majors in six fields. The college also administers the Bachelor of General Studies degree and the Pre-Health Professions programs (pre-dentistry, pre-medicine, pre-veterinary medicine).

Ranch Management Program

Three options for study in ranch management are available. First, a study of all phases of ranch management is offered through a full-time certificate program completed in one academic year. The program combines intensive classroom instruction in basic principles of land, grass, livestock, records, finance and marketing with site visits to ranches, feedlots, market and experiment stations. Students are selected by interview and are admitted only at the beginning of the fall semester.

Second, a program leading to the Bachelor of Science degree in ranch management is available through the College of Science & Engineering. Students in the degree program are advised by a designated representative of the dean of the college. Students normally are enrolled full time in the ranch management program during their final year of study for the degree.

Thirdly, a student may obtain a degree from TCU in a discipline other than ranch management and utilize the ranch management certificate program as a minor to meet graduation requirements.

Texas Christian University
© Copyright 2007. All Rights Reserved.